Modified Parbati-Kalisindh-Chambal-ERCP (Modified PKC-ERCP) Link Project


  • Recently Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Union Ministry of Jal Shakti to implement the Modified Parbati-Kalisindh-Chambal-ERCP (Modified PKC-ERCP) Link Project.
  • The project aims at the integration of the long-pending PKC river link project with the Eastern Rajasthan Canal Project, under the national perspective plan of interlinking of rivers (ILR) programme of the Government of India.
  • According to the Ministry of Jal Shakti, the link project proposes to provide drinking and industrial water in 13 districts of eastern Rajasthan, and Malwa and Chambal regions of Madhya Pradesh, apart from providing irrigation in 2.8 lakh ha. area (or more) each in both the states (total of 5.6 lakh ha or more).

What is the Modified PKC-ERCP?

  • The Modified PKC-ERCP is an inter-state river linking project.
  • According to the ministry of Jal Shakti, preparations for a Detailed Project Report (DPR) are on.
  • Based on the outcome of the DPR, a Memorandum of Agreement (MoA) will be finalised among Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, and the Centre, covering the sharing of water, exchange of water, sharing of costs and benefits, implementation mechanisms, arrangements for management and control of water in the Chambal basin, etc.

What is the PKC link project?

  • The Parbati-Kalisindh-Chambal (PKC) link project is one of the 30 links which are included in the National Perspectives Plan formulated by the erstwhile Union Ministry of Irrigation (now Ministry of Water Resources) and the Central Water Commission in the year 1980.

What is the ERCP?

  • The Eastern Rajasthan Canal Project (ERCP) is aimed at intra-basin transfer of water within the Chambal basin.
  • It does so by utilising surplus monsoon water available in Kalisindh, Parvati, Mej and Chakan subbasins and diverting it into water deficit sub-basins of Banas, Gambhiri, Banganga and Parbati.
  • This will try to provide drinking and industrial water to 13 districts of eastern Rajasthan, namely Alwar, Bharatpur, Dholpur, Karauli, Sawai-Madhopur, Dausa, Jaipur, Ajmer, Tonk, Bundi, Kota, Baran, and Jhalawar.

The post Modified Parbati-Kalisindh-Chambal-ERCP (Modified PKC-ERCP) Link Project appeared first on Vajirao IAS.


Source link

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *